The Time Has Come

When we got Clyde, we were in a totally different part of our lives. With Dad’s death, the move, etc., our lives have changed drastically. We’re home owners again. We have new responsibilities. And, we simply don’t have a lot of free time. And, Clyde has been let slide. It’s not fair to us or him. Yes, I know I talk about him like he’s a person. He kind of is.

But, recently, I’ve had to just face facts… we can’t do this project right now. And, by the time we free up enough time to do it, we may be in a different place in our lives again. So, with a really heavy heart, I’m going to have to tell Clyde goodbye.

So, we’re searching for him a new home. I don’t want all our hard work, and our dreams for him, to get thrown in a recycling heap. So, here’s the deal… if someone will take him and continue his renovation/restoration/rebuild, he’s free to a good home. He’s beyond sturdy and structurally sound. He needs the electric and plumbing run. Insulation and walls put up and the cabinets/beds built in. He’ll also need his trim put back on. We still have it, the windows, etc. We also have his original sink and a lot of other gadgets and gizmos (a cool old circuit box, NOS, the circuit for it and so many other things, even sheets). These come with him.

We can’t deliver, so you have to come to Jonesborough TN to pick him up. He has a title out of Florida that we never even signed. So, we’ll just hand you that and all his bits ‘n’ pieces and you can continue on to a fun-filled camper of your own.

Contact me via reply on here, and I’ll get back to you ASAP.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 00:11:11

    I’m sorry to hear that! I hope you find a suitable home for Clyde – and quickly. I really enjoyed reading your posts. Maybe you can continue writing about your new interests. Don’t feel bad though. Life is going by faster and faster and holding onto things that don’t fit anymore just make you feel guilty. Good luck and happy trails Clyde! Hope to see you on the road soon. 🙂

    Reply

    • clydethecamper
      Feb 28, 2015 @ 22:59:52

      I’m planning on blogging about our new pop-up. Her name is Pandora Popup. I’ll post on here when I get off my tush and start it! Thanks so much for the kind words.

      Reply

  2. thejoyofcaking
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 08:49:44

    I hate to see you get rid of Clyde but I also know exactly where you are coming from. Life does change, priorities change, and there is never enough time to accomplish all that needs (or you’d like) to get done. I look at the Pink Paradise sitting out side my dining room window and wonder what her future holds. Make sure you send Clyde to a good home where he will get the love and attention he deserves.

    Reply

    • clydethecamper
      Feb 28, 2015 @ 22:58:56

      I am very happy to announce he is going to a wonderful new home. Our friend (and coworker) is going to take him and finish him up. He’s a great guy, quite a bit younger than us (sigh… that hurts, LOL), and has a young son. They will have a blast fixing him up, and enjoying him for years to come. So, we are THRILLED!!!!!

      Reply

  3. Amy
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 16:11:20

    Oh no. I’m so sorry to hear the sad news. We have been working on our 1970 Layton for 2 yrs and still aren’t done. Good luck and hope u keep blogging. I’ve enjoyed your journey!

    Reply

    • clydethecamper
      Mar 04, 2015 @ 19:59:26

      I will definitely keep blogging. We haven’t been able to pick up our little Pop up yet, so there’s not much yet. But, check out pandorapopup.net and follow her upcoming adventures, if you’d like.
      The GREAT news is that a friend and coworker of ours is actually taking Clyde and will continue the project. He has a son, and they’re super excited to get to work on Clyde. So, his story continues. Just not with us.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

