Hibernation

Yawn…. stretch… Yawn some more. Clyde here! Holy cow.. I’ve been hibernating all winter! Usually Mom (Emily) writes the blog, but I’ve been sitting out in the snow and rain all winter, and Mom’s busy. So, I thought I’d take over for a bit.

It’s been kinda lonely, down here in my corner of the yard. I’ve had some pretty birds to watch, and sometimes the neighbor’s cat comes by and hangs out inside for a bit. He likes to walk across my axles and try to jump at the couple of bits of wiring I have dangling. We talk, but you know… cats aren’t really all that into campers, and he wasn’t even alive in the 1970’s, so we don’t have much in common.

BUT… I have a feeling it’s going to warm up soon. Dad (Chad) was down here a couple of days ago, and he had the measuring tape out. That always means exciting times are coming! He has some pretty metal all ready to lay down as my brand new floor. He’s going to top that off with some wood, and I’ll be solid and ready for my interior!

What’s my interior going to look like? SPIFFY! That’s what! For my guts, I get Pex plumbing to a single faucet. I get romex wiring, like houses get. I’m not going to be battery capable, simply because Mom says the devil will ice skate before she camps off the grid. She’s kinda girly and a little spoiled. Don’t tell her I said that. She’ll retaliate by putting pink cushions on my couch!

The guts stuff won’t take very long at all, ’cause Dad was an electrician guy for a long time. So, once that’s ran, and the brake lights/marker lights and such are ran (he’s a car guy, too, so this stuff’s gonna be fast), then it’s gonna get super exciting. Why? ‘Cause I get…

PANELING!!! Do you even know how awesome paneling is? I mean, I know some people like that wallboard stuff, but honestly… paneling is where it’s at! I am a 1970’s camper. I am all about the paneling! Oh, that and Disco Balls!!! But, Dad said No the the disco ball. He says he has to keep an eye on Mom or I’m gonna be tacky. We’re not telling him about the boxes of 1970’s decor Mom has. Mom says that’s our little secret. Apparently, I am going to have owls. Lots of them. She’s a little obsessed.

Anyway, back to the wonderful word of paneling. There are so many kinds.

You can have some that has pictures of deer.

Oh, Deer!

Oh, Deer!

Some that looks like wood.

Distressed, even!

Distressed, even!

Some that looks like dry-erase board.

(I was going to put in a picture, but um… it’s just white. Use your imagination!)

Some that you can hang tools on (it’s called Peg Board. Mom said no).

pegboard aka manly paneling

pegboard aka manly paneling

It’s AWESOME STUFF! And, being true to my 1974 self, it’s what I’m very excited about. We’re still deciding if we want all white bead board (big on bottom, little on top) or White on bottom with honey colored wood on top. Dad says if it’s all white, I’ll look like the inside of a refrigerator. I think Mom is starting to agree. I don’t care. I just want PANELING!

Now, I just have to talk them into shag carpet. That is NOT going to be easy.

Note from Clyde’s Mom: While helping Clyde find paneling pictures I discovered that paneling has a high end world. I had no idea. If you want to have your mind blown by what some places consider paneling, check this out:

This ain't your disco paneling

feel free to click here and have your mind completely blown by a lot more examples:  http://www.trendir.com/archives/004176.html

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejoyofcaking
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 18:10:00

    Hi Clyde, Pink Paradise here. I’m looking forward to seeing your new make-over and I’m really digging that distressed paneling. I’ve had a wee bit of a completely unexpected leak this winter so my mamma and papa are going to have to fix me this spring. And while mamma was helping put the tarp over me in the freezing cold dead of winter the bungee cord flew off the camper bumper and gave her a huge black eye. Good thing she had her glasses on or it could have been far worse! Blood, sweat, and tears…

    Reply

    • clydethecamper
      Mar 10, 2014 @ 10:16:30

      Holy cow, Pink Paradise! You’re gonna get in trouble for giving your Mama a black eye! She’ll probably get you back by putting ugly hubcaps on you. Don’t anger the parents, they’ll get back at you!
      I feel your pain on the leaks. I had lots and lots of those. I basically was one big leak. I’m sick of those days. Here’s hoping we both having a leak free spring/summer!

      Reply

  2. Brian
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 15:33:37

    O Clyde your not alone I’m sure Ferdinand feels your pain. He has been sitting under a tarp all winter. I was hopping it was going to be another mild winter but with sub freezing temps, weekly snow storms, and a new baby (our first!) all work has come to a sudden stop. Spring is just around the corner though. That means warmer temps and more daylight, so I’m hoping to finish all the repairs before this summer. I’m itching to get back to working on him and go camping. Just got to get the bath room back together, plumbing connected, install counter top, possibly a second battery, some shelving, and a few things to fix/install outside. It was great hearing from you!
    P.S. I like the paneling with the deer!

    Reply

  3. clydethecamper
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 10:13:10

    Brian, CONGRATS on the baby! You’ll get to introduce a whole new generation to how much fun camping is. How awesome!!! Believe it or not, we had the same kind of winter here, and that’s unheard of for TN. We haven’t had sub zero temps here since the early 1980s. To say we were unprepared was an understatement. We were also very, very whiny. LOL!!
    Can’t wait to see the latest on Ferdinand! If you haven’t got a countertop, ask for mis-cuts at the home improvement stores. A lot of times they will have cut something wrong and sell it at a fraction of the cost. Usually campers need such small pieces, you can use that and still have leftovers!
    Keep us posted!! And, congrats on the new addition!

    Reply

  4. nwgreengirl
    May 13, 2014 @ 10:53:11

    Oh wow! Paneling sure has come a long way! 🙂 I never knew. I was digging that distressed look panel. Way cool. Can’t wait to more pics of Clyde’s new insides. 😉

    Reply

    • clydethecamper
      May 13, 2014 @ 11:39:43

      I know! Who knew paneling got cool(er)?? Clyde’s gotten some updates, but they each have one key piece missing, so I’m waiting to post until I can post the whole shebang. So, he’s not as pitiful as when we last left him. He’s making progress!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

