A day without disaster!!!

We actually had a day of progress. Pure progress. No explosions, nothing falling apart. No rabid wolves, no scary noises, nothing. I figure that this means we will, very soon, be hit by a meteor. I mean, hey… what’s a Clyde-day without a terrible SNAFU?? But, anyway, we didn’t have an explosion. It went well. What did we accomplish? Why, let me tell you…

THE BACK IS DONE. Done. The whole thing. Yes, it is completely studded in, ready to get insulation, paneling, wiring, etc. It is as strong as it can possibly be!

No way on the face of earth it’ll fall apart now! We even got the siding put back on, although that is only temporary.

We’ve got several areas that will require new siding.

I am hoping it won’t be too expensive to replace these. I’d like nice, new siding. But, if that is not an option due to cost, I’m skimming the internet and hunting used siding. Do you think that perhaps there is a “used, ugly siding warehouse” online? We shall find out!!

 

I also got to do my absolute favorite part of the Clyde Project. I got to tear things up. I ripped out walls, paneling, and framing. Oh, how I love to destroy stuff! Demolition (aka “demo”) is my happy thought! I absolutely adore yanking out walls and insulation and such. Gimme a crowbar, a hammer and a zip-saw and I may squeal in pure delight.

So, with my trusty tools of destruction, I ripped out the walls up to the front couch-bunk.  We have now torn out everything original except the very front wall. Can, I just tell you how much I am looking forward to NEVER seeing the grasscloth wallpaper again? I loathe that stuff.

Oh, and can I go on a rant here? I hate construction adhesive. I love it when I am USING it. I just hate when trying to destroy the camper walls is hindered by over-use of Liquid nails. The paneling is glued to the original studs with roughly 364 tubes of this crap per inch. Seriously, I shed blood just trying to rip off the stupid paneling!! UGH. The rest of the camper was built so shoddily, but they glue everything?! UGH, UGH, UGH.

End of rant.

However, we did have something new and fun… we had a little bit of nature set up housekeeping in the camper while we were away for a couple of weeks. We found the beginnings of a squirrel nest, and a spider with a shiny, silver spot on him that looks remarkably like a Hello Kitty face!

And, now the part both of you have been waiting for: CONTEST ANNOUNCEMENT!

Later this week, I will be posting a poll comprised of some shots of neat paint schemes I’ve found on Pinterest. I’ll have some of my favorites up, and I want you to vote for the one you like best. In the comments, make an argument for your choice. The best, funniest, most persuasive comment will win a small Clyde prize. Don’t go getting all excited, it’s not much! No all-expenses-paid trips to Tahiti (or to Piney Flats for that matter), but it’ll be something super-cute! So, get your thinking caps on and get ready to be creative!

I leave you with one last picture, the late, not lamented Chillolator 3000 in its full size glory, in the middle of the camper floor. HUGE drill on top to show size.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie Merrick
    May 31, 2012 @ 16:54:51

    Love seeing Clyde’s progress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

